This Navratri Stop the Hypocrisy of Worshiping Goddesses while Disrespecting Women

Navratri, isn’t just a festival, it’s a complete nine days of worshipping the power and strength of women. In the ancient period, these nine days was celebrated to worship Maa Shakti the sole creation of life and matter. Navratri is full of wonderful mythology, worship, hope, and festivity. There are different stories behind the celebration of Navratri. But in short, you can justify that Navratri is the celebration of women power.

In Sanskrit, Navratri translates to nine nights and Indians across different parts of the world celebrate these nine nights with much anticipation and enthusiasm. These nine nights are full of festivities which is marked with ritualistic fasting, poojas while maintaining a meditative lifestyle. The main motive behind this Hindu festival is worshipping Goddess Durga and her 9 avatars.

Here are the 9 avatars of Goddess Durga according to the days of Celebration:

  1. Goddess Shailputri: The first form of Durga is Goddess Shailputri. According to the scriptures, she holds a Trishul and a lotus in her hands, and rides bull called Nandi.

Goddess Shailputri

2. Goddess Brahmacharini: The second day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Brahmacharini. She is shown as the monastic goddess in Hindu scriptures, two armed, clad in white and holding a rudraksha mala and a sacred Kamandalu.

Goddess Brahmacharini

3. Goddess Chandraghanta: The third avatar of Durga is Goddess Chandraghanta. She is depicted as a fierce 10-armed Goddess, roaring in anger.

Goddess Chandraghanta

4. Goddess Kushmanda: On the fourth day of Navratri, Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped. Kushmanda is made of three words, Ku which means little, Ushma which means warmth or energy and Amanda which means egg. Kushmanda in whole means one who created the universe as the little cosmic egg.

Goddess Kushmanda

5. Goddess Skandmata: The fifth day of Navratri which also means Panchami worships Goddess Skandmata. She is depicted as a four-armed deity carrying a lotus in two arms with a Kamandalu and a bell.

Goddess Skandmata

6. Goddess Katyayani: The sixth day of Navratri is known as Shashti, and Goddess Katyayani is worshipped on this day who is depicted as having four arms and carrying a sword riding a lion.

Goddess Katyayani

7. Goddess Kaalratri: On the seventh day of Navratri is the worshipping of Goddess Kaalratri.  According to the Hindu scriptures, she is etched as a four-armed deity who rides a donkey. She carries a sword, a trident, and a noose.

Goddess Kaalratri

8. Goddess Mahagauri: Durga Asthami or the eighth day of Navratri is dedicated to the worship of Goddess Mahagauri. According to the mythology, she is depicted as a four-armed deity who rides on a bull or a white elephant and carries a Trishul and damru.

Goddess MahaGauri

9. Goddess Siddhidatri: Navmi or the ninth day of Navratri signifies the worshipping of goddess Siddhidatri who is shown holding a lotus, mace, discus and a book.

Goddess Siddhidhatri

But, have we ever thought how amazingly we worship and respect the women in the form of goddesses. And on the other hand, every minute in different parts of the world a crime is reported against women while millions go unnoticed. We worship the different form of Goddess according to their qualities, yet we hesitate to worship the same qualities in our women at home.

We call Goddess Lakshmi ‘ghar ki Lakshmi’ while on the other side do not encourage women to work and bring in the money.

We pray to Goddess Saraswati but most of the rural part of India doesn’t believe in educating their girl child or providing them the quality education.

We worship Goddess Durga who stood against injustice but when a woman stands up against injustice in the family, we would rather tell her to shut up and accept being tormented, ridiculed or harassed.

And, when she can’t bear anymore and rebels like Goddess Kali in full force, she is abused and told she has no respect for family or elders.

So, let us stop being hypocrites and praying to different Goddess and Energies when in reality, we fail to show no respect for it in our daily lives. So, let us truly revel in the worshipped feminine form and manifest the divine energies that are prayed to.

And, Wish you all Happy Navratri!!!